top of page
  • Writer's pictureMatt DeCraene

Wing Skeleton Riveting

I finished up the wing skeleton today. In hindsight it probably would have been easier to build this flat on a bench than in the fixture. My bench is not really big enough to do this, nor do I have room to build a second one. For the other wing skeleton, I may try building it flat on the floor of my garage.


I had a handful of rivets on the main spar to do still. I pulled the duct tape off as I went.

No more clecos in the main spar!

For the rear spar, I was able to squeeze most of them with a longeron yoke.


I also took a quick video of what a rivet being squeezed looks like.


Here is the completed wing skeleton, ready to check for straightness, and then start fitting the wing skins.


You can see the sag in that picture from not having the skin supporting the structure, or a jack as shown in the Van's plans. The only clecos are holding on the stiffeners I prepped from the aileron bracket AD.

12 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page