top of page
  • Writer's pictureMatt DeCraene

More Baggage Door

Updated: Dec 1, 2022


I started by drilling the kit skin to the structure per the build manual

Then I clamped the skin to the new piece of sheet I bought as well as I could. It was not apparent just looking at the part, but the door skin does not have straight sides, which makes sense, since it tapers while it curves.

I transferred the holes from the plans skin by match drilling them, clecoing every hole as I went.


After drilling the holes, I got ready to trim the edges. Here, you can see the curve to the skin.


I cut the new skin close with an abrasive wheel in a dremel, then cleaned it up with a file. I left the end I am extending very long for now. You can also se the new lock hole I cut with a uni-bit


I trimmed the sheet very roughly with a set of snips first before using the cut-off wheel again. It took about four wheels per side.


Here is the skin cut to size


Next, I dimpled the new skin.


I also worked on the retainer for the modified lock cylinder. I started by cutting the hole with a combination of a uni-bit and files.


Here is a test fit of the cylinder.


4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page