top of page
  • Writer's pictureMatt DeCraene

Trim Tab Riveting and Attachment

Today I fit the trim tab to the left elevator. I struggled with how to clamp the hinge in place while match drilling the elevator side of the hinge. This is a challenge since the needs to be on to align with the elevator trailing edge, but that blocks access for any clamps. I ended up using some pieces of shim to wedge it in place until I could get enough clecos in it and finish drilling it.

I used a drywall square to help align the trailing edge.

I was woried about the gap at the folded edge since it ended up being out of square. Luckily, the trim tab ended up out of square in the same direction, which results in a fairly consistent gap on the outboard side of the trim tab cutout.

Leslie helped me start rolling the leading edge of the elevator. We are doing it in sections to make it a little easier. Only a couple of more steps, then the elevator is complete.



7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page