top of page
  • Writer's pictureMatt DeCraene

Tank Leak Testing

I bought the tank test kit from Vans to get the fittings to make testing easier. I needed a second cap fitting since I included the return line fittings on my tank.

I taped a balloon to the vent line and inflated the balloon. The balloon acts as a pressure leak valve. The tank cannot be pressurized higher than the balloon can handle.

Here is a video of the test:



I found two small leaks, the rear baffle, and near the filler neck. Luckily, both can be accessed from the filler neck. I never would have found the one by the filler neck if I had taped over it with packing tape as suggested by Van's.

Just to the right of the reflection below, you can see the sealant bead sag a bit, which is where it leaked.

Here is a close up of the sag.


I set up to put a large filet on this area with an extra long popsicle stick I made by taping together several other popsicle sticks.

Here is the new fillet. Kind of messy, but will hopefully get the job done.

As a random thing to do, Peter helped me get the inspection panels ready to go.


1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page