top of page
  • Writer's pictureMatt DeCraene

Tank Closure, Finally

Today was the big day to finally close the tank out. I laid out all of the rivets that I needed so I can get them cleaned prior to starting to mix the sealant.

I also scuffed and cleaned the rear baffle, and did a last fit check on the fuel sender.

As I was rereading the build manual before starting, I noticed that they call for a 3/16 of a foot bead of sealant. Sometimes it is the little things that are amusing.

Peter inspected my work and pronounced it completed.

I checked the fuel sender with a multi-meter, and it appeared to operate normally, I was a little concerned about using the skin to carry the ground, since the sealant is in-between the flange and the rear baffle, but it appears to be ok.

I installed the cover with the cork gasket and fasteners for now, though if I have trouble with it later, I will replace it with pro-seal.

As soon as this is cured, it is ready for a pressure test.


0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page