top of page
  • Writer's pictureMatt DeCraene

Still baggage door

I decided to put some more curve into the skin for the baggage door to help it fit better. I used the same basic method for rolled leading edges, but did not bend it as tight, or at a constant radius. I duct taper the skin to a broom handle and rolled progressively until I got a curve I liked. This will help the fit along the longer ones as well, since the flat skin wants to pull away from the side of the fuselage.

I also needed to file a curve into my lock spacers, since the skin curves, and the spacers are flat. A bit with the grinding wheel and file got them to fit good enough. You can also see the two holes that I drilled, and added helical inserts instead of just cutting threads in the aluminum block.

I pulled up the other side of the top skin to get better access and locate my hinges.


5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page