top of page
  • Writer's pictureMatt DeCraene

Skin dimpling

After fileing the corners of the skin, I put the tank on with a couple of screws to check its fit to the overlapped skins.

Here is what it looks like. You can see the blend on the inboard skin extending past the next rivet hole. I will paint these overlaps before final riveting.

Payton and Peter helped me pull off the vinyl coating. I elected to not take just strips off this time.

I squeezed the edge dimples on the doubler with it matched to the skin where I could. This should result in a better fit along the edges. Using the C-Frame for the same approach did not work as well, so I did those separate.

Peter, proud of his work with a fully dimpled skin.


2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page