top of page
  • Writer's pictureMatt DeCraene

Rib Deburring

I started deburring the wing ribs today. I started by clearing all of the nose ribs off of the workbench so I had a little more room to work.


I will deburr all of the nose ribs now as well, if I don't need a break from deburring.

I work through each rib one at a time first with an edge break deburring tool, then with some jewler's files for the small areas, particularly the fillets and corner radii, which seem to have the sharpest edges. Then, I hit everything I can with a scotch brite wheel on a die grinder.


I was able to get through not quite half of the wing ribs in this build session. I also ordered a set of fluting pliers, (twice, since Amazon or the USPS lost the first ones) since all of the empenage fluting was already completed. Here is the completed pile.


And the stack of remaining ribs:

In addition to the small 1 inch wheels that come in the standard tool set, I had a bunch of maroon wheels. I tried one of those, but they don't last for more than a single rib using them like this. They are too soft.



10 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page