top of page
  • Writer's pictureMatt DeCraene

More baggage door

Today I worked on my baggage door design. I started by opening up the access hole for the lock cylinder. This needs to be larger to allow a internal plate to retain the lock cylinder to get it back out if I need to. I may add a cover over this later if it looks like it removed too much structure.


I slowly nibbled this away until I had a large enough opening to get the plate in and out.

I clamped everything in place to drill the holes that I used retain the lock cylinder.I just used a #40 bit to locate the holes. I was nervous about drilling too far into the spacer, and hitting the skin.

I will need to get some different fasteners for this. But washers work fine for now. I will add two more fasteners later.

Here's the flush mounted lock cylinder.


2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page