top of page
  • Writer's pictureMatt DeCraene

Lots of big parts together

getting my neighbor Kyle to help me roll the fuselage over, I got to work on the rest of the assembly, starting with the aft deck.


It was relatively quick work to set these rivets, though it took a combination of squeezer and rivet gun.

James stopped by to check out the project, and helped me install the seatbelt brackets.

Next came the elevator bell crank ribs. I sandwiched the dynon servo supports along side the stock brackets I also replaced the an470ad3-x rivets with fish rivets since I do not have a rivet set for ad3 rivets

A few of the gusts got permanently riveted next.

As well as the sports for the foot wells.

Payton came out and helped me briefly.

Next up was the cockpit rails these were a little challenging since they have a small bend that is easy to left a flush rivet set sit on, which can result in a raised rivet.

Either way, I was able to get them all set.

These brackets were also a bit challenging to install in some locations due to the limited access between the backside of the brackets and the side skin.

After riveting those on, I loosely set the seat back support in place.


3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page