top of page
  • Writer's pictureMatt DeCraene

HS Rework - SB 14-01-41 - Part 6

Today, I was able to wrap up the Service Bulletin rework and start fitting the HS to the aircraft. I deburred and trimmed the angles as needed.

Then I riveted them to the ribs.

The ribs then get installed to the forward spar. Make sure the 4 skin rivets that were removed to cut the flange back are put in before the ribs are installed, because the will become un-accessible.

And then the rear spar. Both of these steps are straightforward.

Finally to wrap things up, the skin rivets were installed. In general the SB was not hard to complete. Mostly just time consuming while wating for parts.

Next up was back to the fuselage build and fitting the HS to the tail. I leveled everything.

Then, I drilled the for holes in the rear spar.

And the front attach holes.

Next I moved on to the VS. I pulled this out of my shed, only to discover another error on the part of the previous builder. The flush rivets are flush on the wrong side. Time for more practice drilling rivets out.

All of these parts will need to be replaced. I will have to wait for Van's to deliver new components.


4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page