top of page
  • Writer's pictureMatt DeCraene

Forward Bottom Skins and More Engine Disassembly

I agonized about this seam for the last week or so. I had missed rolling the bottom edge of the forward side skins before I riveted them on originally, and there are pretty big gaps at the #8 screws, although those will be covered by the wing and intersection .

The bottom skis are all riveted. I got Darren to help me with this again

I also installed the cooling ramp.

After I completed the bottom skins, I screwed a couple of blocks of wood to the gear mounts. This way, when I flip it back over, it can sit on the "gear."

I was also able to use my borrowed case splitting tool, which is really just a couple of pieces of angle, and some bolts with nuts welded to the heads to allow the to thread on some studs.

Here you can see one of the lifters was not wearing evenly.

To round out the day, I was able to flip the fuselage back right side up.


3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page