top of page
  • Writer's pictureMatt DeCraene

Engine parts and rudder pedals

An order from spruce came today, I installed some of the plugs in my accessory case in preparation for painting

I also got my connecting rods back that were rejected from Aircraft Specialties for pitting. They will get replaced. Below is an example connecting rod.

I moved on to my rudder pedals. I needed to drill several rivets out to install the parts. I have unfortunately been getting a lot of practice. Once I pop the head off, I find it helps on the -4 rivets to drill part way down the center with a #40 drill bit to allow them to be driven out.

These rivets in the firewall stiffener were in the way also.

Since I couldn't match drill these holes in assembly with the angle for the pedals, I created a spacer that could match drill with the smaller rivets down the length of the angle. First I located the spacer of the existing #30 hole, and taped them down to the floor. Then I installed the pedal angles on top of them and drilled the majority of the holes. Next I transferred the hole to the angle, which will then allow me to match drill them up to the -5 blind rivets included in the kit.


5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page